Close this search box.


Dr. Heidi Pecoraro (Right in Photo)

2023 Veterinarian of the Year

About the Award

The NDVMA Veterinarian of the Year Award was established in 1975, in order to recognize the time and efforts by it members, above and beyond that of normal participation, for the good of the Association and/or profession.  This prestigious award recognizes those members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in building a stronger NDVMA and contributed significantly to veterinary medicine in North Dakota.

Dr. Derine Winning

2021 Presidential Award

About the Award
Established in 2004, the Presidential Award is given to NDVMA members in appreciation for demonstrating dedicated support and outstanding service. Recipients are chosen by the NDVMA Board of Directors.

Senator Robert Erbele

2017 Public Service Award

About the Award

The NDVMA acknowledged Senator Robert Erbele during the recent membership meeting in Fargo as the recipient of the 2017 Public Service Award. Senator Erbele has been instrumental in fine tuning and protecting North Dakota’s veterinary loan repayment program. During the 2017 legislative session he was able to stop an attempt to have veterinarian students repay the out of state portion of their tuition if they did not return to ND in 3 years. Senator Erbele is also a strong advocate for extension research promoting animal agriculture. He has also served on the Wiche Veterinary Medicine Advisory Council since 2005 as North Dakota’s legislative member. Senator Erbele from Lehr serves a large rural district that covers the greater part of the south central part of North Dakota, east of the Missouri river.